Ventures into self-publishing

I decided to self-publish a collection of my short stories recently. Although I am already published with an independent publisher, I wanted to try my hand at being in control of my work regarding publicity and marketing. I spend a lot of time promoting my novel Echoes from the Lost Ones, so didn’t think it would be too much of a disruption to add another book to that time spent online. Wrong!

I spent days finding out about copyright laws on works of art because I wanted to use an image by the artist Henri Rousseau for the front cover. I was going to call my collection Rousseau’s Suburban Garden, after a story in the anthology. Thanks to the help and advice from fellow writers I discovered that it was highly likely that I would have to pay to use the image. I decided to call the collection something else and use one of my own photographs instead. A graphic designer friend, Simon, took the image and designed the cover. Thank you Simon!

Martin, my husband, very kindly formatted the text for me and I am now at the stage where I will be ready to publish with CreateSpace on Amazon. I’ve never done this before, so I’m a little nervous and excited.

The anthology is now called Glimmer, named after the first story in the collection. I chose it because I like the ambiguity of the title and because it is an award winning short. Anyway, here is the almost final cover design. Hope you like it.

 Image

Here’s to my first venture into self-publishing!

If anyone out there has any tips on how to market short story collections, I would love to hear from you.

Thanks.

Leave a Reply

