Using A Camera As A Canvas

I have been experimenting with light paintings for a few years now and I realised that the more I did, the more I wanted to really ‘paint’ with light. So I made a conscious decision to create images that looked as if they could have been painted rather than photographed. I have always loved the paintings of Marc Chagall and when my husband designed, made and fitted one of his own stained glass windows in our house, I used his beautiful coloured glass as inspiration for my homage to said artist. Here are a couple of my photos in the style of Chagall:

Image

Image

 

Then I moved away from the static and used torches, ribbons and flowers. Some of the images turned out a bit like Francis Bacon:

Image

Image

 

 

And some I like because they are a bit weird or colourful. I either position the camera on a tripod and move around with a torch or fairy lights, or I dance around moving the camera in front of a light source. Always with a slow shutter speed and high f-stop:

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

 

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Using A Camera As A Canvas

Leave a Reply

