Echoes from the Lost Ones – A year of doubt and thanks to all the readers!!

About a year ago, I had my first ever book published by Fable Press. Echoes from the Lost Ones – a YA dystopian/sci-fi novel.

Image

I was unsure how people would react to it, because I used a slang-based language to tell my story from the heroine’s viewpoint. I took quite a risk writing in this style, but I knew that I wanted to produce a story that broke the mould and create a unique world with a unique voice.

I waited for my first reviews with apprehension.  My first one was a 3* and yep, the reviewer didn’t like the language. So I thought, here we go, I’m going to get slammed for daring to be different. Now, I wasn’t actually upset that I got a  3* review!! That’s good isn’t it?  I was actually very pleased indeed. Then I began to get 4* and 5* reviews. Very, very pleased. My experiment with narrative payed off – for the most part. I still get 3* reviews from readers, and they pretty much say the same thing about not liking the language and finding it difficult to read. But, more people enjoy my quirky world and oddly use of English than don’t.

Result!!!

So I say to all who want to try and do something new with language – DO IT! You never know, it just might work.

To celebrate the launch of A Silence Heard – the second book in The Song of Forgetfulness series, Echoes form the Lost Ones is FREE to download on all Amazon sites from 29th May to 2nd June. Thanks to everyone who has downloaded Echoes!! Very much appreciated.

 

Image

 

If you enjoy a read that is different from the usual dystopian/sci-fi novels that are around, then why not get a copy and see if you like my style.

Still not sure? Check out my book trailers for both novels:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJ-AmBW-QjQ

 

Amazon.co.uk

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Echoes-Lost-Ones-Song-Forgetfulness/dp/1939897041/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1369775406&sr=8-1&keywords=echoes+from+the+lost+ones

 

Amazon.com B00CXSZIGS

http://www.amazon.com/Echoes-Lost-Ones-Song-Forgetfulness/dp/1939897041/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1369775230&sr=1-1&keywords=echoes+from+the+lost+ones

 

Amazon.ca

http://www.amazon.ca/Echoes-Lost-Ones-Forgetfulness-ebook/dp/B00CXSZIGS/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1369775317&sr=1-1&keywords=echoes+from+the+lost+ones

3 thoughts on “Echoes from the Lost Ones – A year of doubt and thanks to all the readers!!

  1. Brilliant trailer! I hope being different will pay off in the long run. Different usually means you have to get your brain into gear to read it, and that will never work for some readers. So go for the brainy reader 🙂

  2. Where do I find them? Actually, there must be quite a lot of brainy teenagers out there, because they seem to like the language when I do readings for them. Anyway, you can’t please all the people all of the time. Just glad somebody is reading and enjoying!! Thanks for the comment Jane:0)

  3. I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thanks again! gbaadaceefgk

Leave a Reply

