Debut Author Spotlight – Julie Lovett

To continue my series of blogs on new authors living in Suffolk, I am delighted to introduce Julie Lovett and her debut novel The Prophet and the Time Traveller. 

Welcome Julie.

Julie

What is your book about? 

It’s a humorous novel about relationships between siblings, lovers and friends, set against a dystopian backdrop.

The prophet book cover

 Why did you choose to write your book?

I started writing my book as a comment on farming methods, the futility of war and so on. However, it quickly transformed into a more balanced and readable story.

 Who or what was the inspiration behind it?

The main characters are identical twins, as are my brothers. However, my brothers are not failed scientists, they have never time travelled (except slowly forward like the rest of us) and they are usually far more sensible than the characters in my story. However, I think they will appreciate my joke.

 What kind of research did you do?

I didn’t research specifically for this book, but I did bring fifty years of life experience, an enquiring mind and a good imagination to it.

 What was the biggest challenge in writing the book?

My biggest challenge came when I finished the main draft and went back through the book looking for areas that I felt could benefit from expansion or clarification.  I discovered that my writing style had developed immensely by then and it was difficult to insert new material into the early chapters in a seamless way.

 What was the best part of writing your book?

I enjoyed letting my imagination go into freefall, indulging in descriptions that would seem superfluous in normal life and having an appropriate outlet for my sense of humour.

 Do you have any advice to give authors who wish to self-publish?

I would advise other new authors to enjoy the experience and get lots of feedback on your work prior to publishing, if you can.

 What are your future writing plans?

 I am currently writing a children’s story about a young wizard who believes he can only conjure up nettle soup, a bitter sweet story about a ghostly mother who interferes with her daughter’s love life and a collection of short stories and poems.

Thank you Julie for letting us know about your debut novel.

You can learn more about Julie by visiting her website:

https://julielovett.wordpress.com/

You can purchase her book on Amazon.

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Prophet-Time-Traveller-Julie-Lovett-ebook/dp/B01IO7F4AG/

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Prophet-Time-Traveller-Julie-Lovett-ebook/dp/B01HDT05ZA

The prophet book cover

 

 

 

One thought on “Debut Author Spotlight – Julie Lovett

  1. Pingback: Author Spotlight – Please scroll down to find out more

Leave a Reply

